Euro Visas

Everything you need to know about how to get and travel with a Visa in Europe.

Close up of visa used to travel to Europe

What countries require visas and can I arrange for one when I get there?

Since the EU was founded, hopping around from one Euro country to the next has gotten a lot simpler and easier for travelers. While in the old days, you could collect dozens of cool passport stamps and show them off to your friends when you got back home. You would also have to physically convert currency in almost every country, shuffle through long lines at border crossings, and stop to make routine customs declarations. Nowadays, it’s all streamlined with one currency (the Euro) and you only get one passport stamp on entry in the EU and one upon leaving. All of this progress happened slowly over many years thanks to the Schengen Agreement which we’ll go into more detail below.

Most importantly, know before you go and do your homework in advance. Depending on your country of origin, the following websites offer up to date travel advisories on more than 180 countries and regions. They are primarily designed for finding out more about a place’s current political climate and list any concerns related to its most recent activities while abroad:

Common Europe Visa Questions

What is the Schengen Area?

So if you’re not already familiar with the term Schengen, it is actually a tiny village in Luxembourg where the Schengen Agreement began originally over 30 years ago and has grown to what it is now. Basically, it references the EU passport-free zone that covers 26 European countries that have collectively agreed to remove internal border controls within their mutual member zone. Collectively it functions like a single jurisdiction with no passports required and a common judicial system as well as police in an effort to allow free and just so happens to be the largest free travel area in the entire world.

What is a Schengen Visa?

This is a short-term tourist or business visa that allows a person to travel freely to any members of the Schengen Area for stays up to 90 days. In other words, there are no border controls within the Schengen Zone so you can enter, freely travel within, and leave the Schengen zone from any of the Schengen member countries.Please note, if you’re planning to study, work, or live in one of the Schengen countries longer than 90 days, then you must apply for a national visa for that European country instead. The Schengen Visa described above will not be applicable.

For More Information:

Schengen Visa

What are the Schengen Countries?

The Schengen Area covers 26 European countries, including all EU countries except Ireland, Croatia, Romania, Bulgaria, and Cyprus. Norway, Iceland, Switzerland, and Lichtenstein are included in the Schengen Area but aren’t part of the EU. The full list of countries is as follows: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

While it is always advised that you consult your travel agent, consulate, or embassy about determining which visas will be required and how to obtain ALL of them beforehand, it can be possible to apply for them abroad in the desired country’s embassy or consulate located in most of Europe’s capitals if necessary. Of note, South Africans seem to have the hardest time accessing visas, and will need a Schengen visa for entry to most EU countries. If headed to Russia or Moldova you will need a visa in most cases and in Turkey you’ll probably be required to have an e-visa prior to entry. It must be stated that political climates are always in a state of flux and therefore subject to change so please do your diligence ahead of time and confirm your complete itinerary to determine what visas are required for your country of origin. A helpful website called Project Visa has great info on most European countries and their requirements.

Europe Travel Deals:

Websites for Up-to-Date Visa Information

Your NationalityWebsites
GOV.UK 2021 Travel
ETIAS- British Tourists
CanadaETIAS- Canadians
Government of Canada
Australia Europe Destinations
ETIAS- Australians
New ZealandETIAS- New Zealanders
South AfricaSchengen Visa Info

Non-Schengen European countries

The following European countries are not part of the Schengen area and thus have their own entry and exit requirements. Many will allow you to enter visa-free for tourism usually up to 90 days but sometimes longer and do not count towards the 90-day maximum for Schengen area travel.

In some rare cases, for example, ex-soviet countries or eastern bloc countries, it can take up to 6 weeks depending on the circumstances and the events occurring within the desired destination and their relations with your country of origin. In all cases, make sure you check that the dates of expiration coordinate with your plans. Also important to note is if you plan to travel through the same country twice you will need to specify a multiple entry visa.

List of Non-Schengen European countries:
United Kingdom
North Macedonia (Republic of North Macedonia)
Bosnia & Herzegovina

Disclaimer on Europe Visa Information

This website is informational only, and many features are subject to change depending on seasons, availability, and the ever-changing business environment. is and cannot be held responsible for any incorrect information on this website. To the best of our knowledge, we sincerely try to be as accurate as possible. We highly encourage you to verify any information before planning or booking your trip or itinerary.